Chocolate-Dipped Macaroons

Chocolate-dipped Macaroons

Yum another cookie post! I made these a few weeks ago for a mini-Seder which I decided to host at the last-minute.  The rest of my menu was pretty simple and I relied on a few store-bought and prepared items but decided to make these from scratch.  Weird I know, usually I’d prepare the actual meal and buy the dessert, but I’d been wanting to try making macaroons for a while and had just read this recipe from Nicole at Baking Bites.

The only adjustments I made were to reduce the amount of sugar, since my bag of coconut was just under 3 cups.  So I used 1/3 cup of sugar and the ‘roons were plenty sweet.  I tried to shape mine into pyramids but they looked more like little clumpy hills. I figured dipping them into chocolate and then drizzling more on top would enhance their eye-appeal.  So I melted a 4-ounce Ghiardelli semi-sweet baking bar in the microwave, then dipped the bottoms and used a fork to drizzle the remaining chocolate on top.

Generally I think adding the words “chocolate-dipped” in front of just about any food item is a sure crowd-pleaser. In this case I just had a crowd of three and there were certainly no complaints!

