I like yummy food

I’ve been busy, busy, busy in the kitchen lately so I thought I’d share the fruit (and meat and cake) of my labors.  Being a geek, and having a camera on hand at all times since there’s one in my phone, I’ve documented the recent surge of yumminess.  On the menu:

Short Ribs Provencale

Short Ribs Provençale

I had never made this before but it is a lot like making beef stew.  And you add a lot of wine so what could go wrong? This is from a recipe at Epicurious. My only change is that I didn’t add carrots and olives at the end and I used a little less garlic.  This is kind of fancy-schmancy yet homey comfort food at the same time.

Chile-rubbed shrimp with avocado-corn salsa

Chile-Rubbed Shrimp with Avocado Corn Cocktail

This was made as an appetizer for the afore-mentioned short ribs.  But really I think this dish stole the show! I would definitely make this again as a main dish.  Again, recipe from Epicurious.  I had a to change it a little bit based on what I hand but it still turned out great.  I can’t wait to make this again.  It would great in the summer when fresh garden veggies are available.

Chocolate cake

Nita's Crazy Cake

Don’t know why, but I’d been craving chocolate cake so I finally broke down and made one.  I really wanted to make a layer cake with rich chocolate frosting, but didn’t have time, or round cake pans.  So I made this quick “snack” cake recipe  - again, from Epicurious – what would I do without that web site? Go hungry I think.  This is the easiest cake because you mix all the ingredients right in the pan.  It’s also vegan, so great for your dairy-free friends.  The frosting, however, is not dairy-free.  It’s a half-batch of the buttercream frosting recipe from the side of the Domino sugar box.  We tinted it pink, and added rainbow sprinkles, because most things in life are better with sprinkles.

Well there’s more but I’ll save those for another day.  Now really I don’t cook like this all the time.  But I didn’t think pictures of boxed spaghetti with jarred tomato sauce would be too interesting!

Enjoy! Mangia!

 

 

One thought on “I like yummy food

Comments are closed.