Why a blog?

I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for several years.  What has usually stopped me is any combination of the following reasons:

  • I don’t really have a need to share everything with the www (whole wide world, or world wide web, depending on how you look at it)
  • I’m not looking for fame, fortune or popularity (or whatever else people who start blogs are looking for)
  • I don’t consider myself a “writer”
  • I don’t have time
  • and often times I feel like I just don’t have that much to say!

But as a web site professional, I am expected to know everything and anything about web sites (or so it seems judging from the many questions I am asked!)  What better way to become more familiar with blogging in general, and WordPress in particular, than starting a blog.  So here I am.

I don’t have a particular focus, which is the first thing that the “blog experts” suggest. So for now I’ll just write about whatever is on my mind.    I have no idea who my audience might be.  Perhaps nobody.  Perhaps just my friends and family if I even send them this link.  And that’s fine for now.

I wasn’t feeling very creative when creating the blog title – it’s a steal from the SNL skit “Deep Thoughts by Jack Handey“.  Which I just Google’d and found there really is a Jack Handey! Who knew?

