WordPress Custom Menus

Before I left on vacation, I learned a new feature: adding a custom menu.  I was trying to figure out a way to put a blog post into my main navigation menu.  After watching Morten Rand-Hendriksen’s chapter on Custom Menus in WordPress3 Essential Training, I dug into the Menus option.

I wanted a sub-menu item to point to my first blog post which answers the question, “Why a Blog?“. It would be nice to be able to choose from any blog post to add to a menu just like you can choose from any page.  But since that option wasn’t available, I chose to use the Custom Link option to link to the URL of my blog post.  That worked, and then I moved it over so it was a “child page” of my “About” page.

Another thing I was hoping to do was to add a menu item to link to all of my posts about Facebook.   So how I accomplished that was to add another Custom Link, and for the URL I used the hyperlink found in my Tag Cloud pointing to all posts I tagged with the word Facebook.  That worked too!  Yay! Maybe I’m getting this thing figured out! I suppose there are more customization features with the self-hosted option.  But with a few work-arounds, I’m getting things to function how I want.

