Cocoa Meringues

cocoa meringueI received a nice compliment from a friend today, saying if this whole web thing doesn’t work out for me I could open a bakery!  I had shared a few cocoa meringues with her family and they have been previous recipients of my Peppermint Bark and Peanut Butter Brownies.  So I thought I’d share the recipe that I used for the meringues. Plus I realize I haven’t posted a recipe here for a bit.

The only reason I made meringues was that I had egg whites leftover from using the yolks in a Key Lime Pie over the weekend.  (I’m on a bit of a sugar binge).  Seemed like a bad idea to waste them.  Meringues are an easy way to use up any set-aside egg whites.

I followed this recipe from Epicurious but made a few changes

  • Increased egg white from 3 to 4 since that’s how many I had
  • Didn’t use cream of tartar as I didn’t have any
  • Due to the additional egg white, increased the amount of sugar, 1/4 cup plus 1/3 cup. However I kept the amount of cocoa powder the same, and they still had a decent chocolate flavor.  If I made again I might increase this too.
  • Increased baking time as mine were still soft after 40 minutes at 300°.  I reduced heat to 275° and baked an additional 1/2 hour, and then turned off the oven but kept them in for about 4 hours.  At that point they were nice and crunchy.

Oh, did I mention these are fat-free? They are practically health food! So give them a try!

