Top Five Driving Songs

It’s surprising that I haven’t posted anything here at all about music. Let’s remedy that right here, right now.  Don’t you think there are certain songs that just lend themselves to being blasted on the highest volume tolerable to human ears while speeding driving down the road, street or highway?  The funny thing about these types of songs for me is that otherwise, I don’t favor them as much.  I don’t have them on my iPod (with one exception) and I don’t seek them out when listening to music at home.  But when I hear them on the radio in the car, I immediately turn the volume knob UP.

Here are my top 5 driving songs guaranteed to put a smile on my face and earplugs in my passengers’ ears.

1. American Pie – Don McLean
A classic.  First heard this when our babysitter played it on the radio when I was just a wee little girl. Well I don’t recall exactly how old I was but it was after my family moved from NYC to the Connecticut ‘burbs in the early 70’s.  At the time I liked the rhyming lyrics “drove my Chevy to the levee”, and the part about “whiskey and rye” sounded very grown up.  There must be some emotional connection to childhood from this song because when I sing along while driving, I get all choked up.

2. Ramblin’ Man – Allman Brothers
Another early 70’s song and I blame my brother for influencing me with his fondness for southern rockers during that era.  This one is fun to sing and I love to harmonize up a third.  I know a three-year old who likes to sing this in the bathtub so I do think this song has universal and multi-generational appeal.

3. Closer to Fine – Indigo Girls
This is another one that I must sing along with and I get a little “verklempt” when I do.  This one is all about the harmony for me.  I’m a harmony freak.  This was their first hit and still my favorite of all their songs.

4. Fly Away – Lenny Kravitz
I wanna get away, I wanna fly away, yeah, yeah, yeah! I like the crunchy guitar that opens this song, and I like the groove.  I love a good groove.  Groove and harmony are usually more important to me than lyrics.  I remember when Lenny first came out with Let Love Rule, I think I had the album (were we still listening to albums then? Or had we already moved on to CD’s.  That was what – early 90’s? I just checked – 1989.  I’m aging myself here…)  however I haven’t really followed his career all that much since.  But love this song.


5. We R Who We R – just kidding! My daughter typed that in when I stepped away from the computer!

5.  My Sharona – The Knack
This was a close one, I almost put Shattered by the Stones here but then I remembered the guitar solo in this song which I love.  Funny I’ve mentioned guitar here twice and I’ve always been more of a piano gal, but I guess I’m an equal-opportunity music fan.  This song surely does have the “I loved it when I was a teenager so I love it still even though it may not have stood the test of time” quality about it.  Or maybe it has stood the test thanks to its inclusion in the movie Reality Bites?

Well there you have it, some songs to keep you motivated during your next looooong drive. What would you put on the list?

