In a comment on my recent post about Facebook security, I had a question about Facebook’s security option called Login Notifications. Facebook explains it like this:
“Login Notifications are an opt-in security feature where alerts are sent to you each time your account is accessed from a new device.”
This is a new feature which I have just started using. To be honest it was a bit confusing to figure out, but here is my understanding of it so far.
Benefits of Login Notifications
If you enable this feature, you will be notified by e-mail if your account is accessed from a new device and/or location. So if it was not you accessing Facebook, i.e. if your account was hacked into somehow, you would be notified and could take immediate action.
How do I turn on Login Notifications?
Facebook’s instructions are here; follow the steps to activate. Basically:
- Go to Account – Account Settings at the upper right of the page.
- Click Security.
- Next to “Login Notifications” click “Edit” and put a check next to “Email”.
- Log out of Facebook and then log back in.
- You’ll get a prompt like this to name your computer (an approved location for accessing your account)
The text you see if you click “Why am I seeing this?” states “In your account security settings, you opted to receive notifications whenever a new computer or mobile device accesses your Facebook account. After you name this computer, you’ll receive a notification confirming that you logged in from here.”
So name the computer, such as “MyHomeComputer”. The option “Don’t ask me again from this computer” is checked by default. If you leave it checked, FB will assume that logons from this particular location are okay and won’t be concerned, therefore you won’t get an e-mail each time. Click Continue.
(If you logon from a shared location, such as computer at the local library that other people use, then you may want to leave that option unchecked; that way, you WILL receive a notification if your account is accessed from that shared location, and if you don’t happen to be at the library at that moment, you can take appropriate action.)
You’ll get an initial e-mail that will tell you that a new device (with the name you just provided, such as “MyHomeComputer”) logged into your account, and that the new device has been added to your account. Then the e-mail goes on to say, if this was you logging on, you can ignore the e-mail. If this was not you, then click a link that will help you secure your account. For example, you will be asked to reset your Facebook password and verify some account information. (Make sure you know your password!)
Does it work?
Yes – I tested this by logging into Facebook from my iPod touch Facebook app. Indeed I immediately received an e-mail from Facebook notifying me about this login.
Bottom line – I recommend enabling this feature.