In honor of my upcoming birthday

Birthday CakeFor most of my adult life, I have felt younger than my age.  And I like to think that I’ve also looked younger than my age.  But what does that really mean anyway? Now as I approach another birthday I thought I’d take a moment to reflect.  This year is not a milestone birthday like 30, 40 or 50.  I don’t expect a party and a big fuss.  (Although I am expecting one of these.  And a cake would be nice.) But what’s in a number?  Is there any meaning to my birthday this year?

What is 46?

To answer this question I went to the source of all information, Google, and searched for “46” to see what the number is all about. There were about 8,780,000,000 results.  Here are a few of them.

The first search result is from Wikipedia. I learned that 46 is the natural number following 45 and preceding 47. It is the number of human chromosomes. It is a centered triangular number.  Well, that is interesting.  I like to do yoga which helps to center me and one of my favorite poses is Triangle.

I found that there is a restaurant called 46 Lounge in Totowa, New Jersey.  This looks like a nice place to celebrate a birthday – an “ultra-chic lounge with flavors of Manhattan, Miami and Los Angeles packed into one exciting venue.”  Perhaps another time since it is a 5 hour drive from where I live.

If I have time to watch a movie on my birthday I could rent Code 46 starring Tim Robbins. While it only got 6.3 stars out of 10, it looks like an interesting movie – “A futuristic ‘Brief Encounter’, a love story in which the romance is doomed by genetic incompatibility” and “Languages and races all melded together into one global culture.”  I’m putting this on my Netflix queue now!

Next up is the 46″ 1080P LED TV Series 6 from Samsung, one of many shopping results.  I guess this a standard size for TV’s.  This could look good hanging on my living room wall, and could be a gift idea for my husband who actually could tell you what 1080P means.

If you have any questions on legal issues pertaining to shipping you might want to review Title 46 of the U.S. Code.  You might need to hire a lawyer to help you interpret.  Luckily the website includes a link where can you find a lawyer in your area.

And finally from the Bible Gateway web site, Psalm 46 from the New International Version. Now I’m not one to try to interpret bible verse so I’m not even going to try. What struck me right away from this page was “For the Director of Music” and reference to song.  So as far as any Bible passage has meaning for me, I suppose this one comes as close as any to being relevant or providing any insight.

In Summary

After thoroughly analyzing these search results I can’t say I can find any higher meaning in the number 46.  So I’m going to go with the trite but true statement that “age is just a number” for this birthday and probably many birthdays to come.

