My Travel Goal

Many years ago I set a goal for myself: to visit all 50 states before I die.  I set this goal after returning from a cross-country adventure in my late 20’s.  I visited quite a few states on that trip, and realized I was already halfway to meeting the goal.  Therefore it seemed attainable.  I like attainable goals.

It was easy adding new states to the list for a while.  A conference for work was held in Austin – crossed Texas off my list. I switched planes in Detroit on my way to Seattle – crossed Michigan off my list.  (Yes, I count airport transfers as a visit).

Now, with 36 states visited and 14 left to go (see below), I am at the point where I realize I have to specifically plan for the remaining states.  So far I have not had the opportunity arise to visit, say, Alabama or Missouri and I doubt these opportunities will present themselves. I will need to research some interesting destinations and plan a few vacations to the remaining states.  These include Alaska and Hawaii so I need to start saving!

In the meantime, with my family spread out across the country, I make return visits to the same locations. I just returned from visiting family in Asheville, North Carolina and I had hoped to make the 60 mile drive into Tennessee during this trip so I could cross it off my list.  It didn’t work out this time.  Perhaps next summer I’ll convince my family unit to hop into the mini-van for a driving vacation and I can work in West Virginia on the way down.

Speaking of Asheville, it is a great little city, the hub of western North Carolina.  I didn’t get any stunning Blue Ridge Parkway photos (unfortunately the foliage was just past peak) but did grab a shot from our parked car of a stunning mural painted on a highway underpass. I’ve used it for the banner for this post (don’t see it? Go here).  Here is the entire photo:

Asheville mural

And here is the list of my remaining states.  If you have suggestions for where I should go, please leave a comment!

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arkansas
  4. Hawaii
  5. Kansas
  6. Kentucky
  7. Louisiana
  8. Mississippi
  9. Missouri
  10. New Mexico
  11. North Dakota
  12. Oklahoma
  13. Tennessee
  14. West Virginia
2 thoughts on “My Travel Goal

  1. Hope NC was fun! It is funny you mentioned Alabama first because we went there for Columbus Day weekend. My Uncle lives on an island on the Gulf Coast and the beaches are beautiful there. We flew in to Pensacola Florida which is nearby but the beach areas are Gulf Shores and Orange Beach. Water is warm and white(sugar sand) beaches. We would never have thought to go to Alabama if it wasn’t for my Uncle but I am glad we did. So there is a possible place for you if you want to check out Alabama! Take care! Liz

Comments are closed.